15 May – 15 September
This secluded, peaceful campground lies by Ósinn, at the west end of the village. Showers, toilets and electricity are offered on site, as well as sewage disposal. The pleasant Sumarlína café is only a short walk away from the campground, and is also a short distance to the Anna Frænka handcrafts gallery. Another gallery, Kolfreyja, is operated by local handcraft artists in a charmingly renovated building which stands near the sea and is dedicated to heritage and crafts. In the summer, this gallery also provides tourist information.
Fáskrúðsfjörður maintains its strong historical ties to France by displaying both Icelandic and French names on local streets. In the summer of 2014, the renovation or rebuilding of several French structures was completed, in particular restoration of the French hospital. This building now hosts the Foss Hotel Austfirðir, l’Abri restaurant and a museum accentuating the French culture in Iceland, presenting a unique collection and installation on the life and work of French seamen fishing off this island. On the last weekend of July, Fáskrúðsfjörður celebrates its French Days, a family festival with a French flair. The local swimming pool is another inviting option for campground guests.
Fáskrúðsfjörður is one of the six villages in the municipality of Fjarðabyggð.
|Country calling code||+354|
|International call prefix||00|
|Directory enquiries||1818, 1819 or 1800|
The Camping card is only valid to September 15th. 2018, delivery time can take up to 10 days.